• newbooks
  • slide4
  • slide2

Company Profile

Established in 2010, Phoenix is an independent book publisher based in Kathmandu. Initiated by young publishers , Phoenix aims to give voice to emerging and exciting writers from diverse backgrounds. We help foster an environment in which literature and pedagogy not only survive, but thrive. In short, we nurture the growing literary community in Nepal.


We published so far around 5 dozen titles that includes memoirs, fictions, non fictions and researches and compilations. Amongst our titles in fiction, Damini Bhir by  Rajan Mukarung was awarded Madan Puraskar, the biggest and the most prestigious award in literature in Nepal. Similarly the book Lato Pahad collection of stories written by Upendra Subba was awarded by another prestigious prize Padmashree.


We do not publish text books, but education has been one of the main motif for publishing. And we have been focusing more on researches and publishing reference books. Pujibad ra Nepal  by Prof. Chaitanya Mishra, Bhu-rajniti  by Gopal Khanal, and Nepal ma Jala Bidhyut  by Bikash Thapa are some of the prominent titles we have published.

Exploring rare books and making them available for younger generations of readers is another facet of Phoenix. We have republished all the titles of Late Parijat that includes Shirish ko Phul( Madan Puraskar winner)Baishko ManchheMaile Najanmaeko ChhoroToribari Bata ra SapanaharuMahattahinAnido pahad SangaiParkhal bhitra ra bahira includng complte work of Parijat. Parijat (1937- 1993) is one of the most prominent authors in the history of Nepali literature. Similarly we have been granted the rights to republish the books by other prominent authors they include: The Books in five Series Tyas Bakhatko Nepal by  Late Sardar Bhim Bahadur Pandey, Seven books named Uttarottar, Sangya Sarbanam, Ghamka Pailaharu (Madan Puraskar winner), Tin Baas, Samjhanaka Galchdaharu, Kaalantar, and Yeha dekhi Teha Samma by Dhanush Chandra Gotame. And also we are on final stage to publish three books Alikhit (Madan Puraskar winner), Kattel Sirko Chhotpatak ( motion picture named Basudev) and Badhi by  Dhrubachandra Gautam. We are also working on classic series of Indra Bahadur Rai and Many other legendry writers. We will be happy to announce their name very soon.